Custom Class: header-top-wrapper


2023-2024 Athletic Awards

2023-2024 Athletic Awards

Named Athletic Awards 

Presented on May 8, 2024


Leo McCormick Award for Dedication & Loyalty to Boys’ Latin Athletics 

After his graduation in 1926, Leo McCormick was a familiar sight at Boys’ Latin as a supporter of all things BL.  He served on our Alumni Board and loved Boys’ Latin and its athletic program. In 1979, Mr. McCormick, along with his wife Virginia, established the Leo H. McCormick award for dedication and loyalty to Boys’ Latin athletics. Each year, this award is given to a member of the BL community who unselfishly gives of themselves to the athletic program and Boys’ Latin.

Recipient:  Phil Sheehey


The William H. Gamper / Drew Haugh Award

Former US Science teacher and Dean of Students Bill Gamper coached the varsity wrestling team in the 1970s and 1980s. Drew Haugh ran the junior league program for decades and was the varsity assistant coach before taking over in the late 1990s. This award honors a member of the BL community who has made a unique contribution to the wrestling program.  

Recipient: Donald Obrecht ‘78


C. Markland Kelly Athletic Service Award 

This award is given to an individual who has provided great leadership, promoted athletics within the School, and exemplified teamwork and sportsmanship. It is presented in recognition of outstanding characteristics in rendering service to the School's athletic and/or physical education program.

Recipient: Nick Chan ‘24



A. Mason LeBrun Award – Outstanding Junior Athlete

Named for longtime athletic director and lacrosse coach, Mr. LeBrun oversaw the move from Brevard Street to Lake Avenue and was instrumental in adding cross country, soccer, wrestling, and baseball to our athletic program.   

Recipients:  Matthew Higgins ‘25 and Ridgely Ritter ‘25



Woodward Cup for Effort in Three Sports

The Woodward Cup is named for Tillie Woodward, a longtime Boys’ Latin faculty member who was the librarian, taught mechanical drawing, ran the school plays and coached lower school physical education.  Ms. Woodward specified that the award be given to a student who played three sports and gave outstanding effort in each season. 

Recipients:  Michael Meredith ‘24 and Drew Wehberg ‘24



 Phyllis Miller Cup – Unsung Hero

Named for Phyllis Miller, who was President of the Mother’s Club when Boys’ Latin moved to Lake Avenue.  An unsung hero is a person who is a critical part of every facet of the team.

Recipient:  John Wedgeworth ‘24



Jack Williams Cup – Sportsmanship

The sportsmanship award is presented in memory of former headmaster, Jack Williams.  Mr. Williams was an advocate of athletics and fair play, and the award is given to a young man who exhibits outstanding sportsmanship. 

Recipients: Cole Quenzer ‘24, Tyrell Moore ‘24, and Ryan Kelly ‘24



Coaches Cup for Teamwork & Leadership

The coaches cup is presented to an individual who, in the eyes of his coaches, is a team leader and puts teamwork above personal goals. 

Recipients:  Sean Crowley ‘24, Desi Arrup ‘24, Connor Schoenwetter ‘24, and Liam White ‘24