Custom Class: header-top-wrapper


Athletic Awards 2022-2023

Athletic Awards 2022-2023

Our 2022-2023 athletic awards celebrate our student-athletes that have not only excelled in their athletic endeavors but have displayed exemplary leadership and reflect the values of Boys’ Latin.

Rookie of the Year
This award goes to a newcomer who has made a significant impact on athletics at Boys’ Latin.
Winner: Mr. Steve Penczek

Leo McCormick Award for Dedication & Loyalty to Boys Latin Athletics
After his graduation in 1926, Leo McCormick was a familiar sight at Boys’ Latin as a supporter all things BL. He served on our Alumni Board and loved Boys’ Latin and its athletic program. In 1979, Mr. McCormick, along with his wife Virginia, established the Leo H. McCormick award for dedication and loyalty to Boys’ Latin athletics. Each year, this memorial award is given to a member of the BL community who unselfishly gives of themselves to the athletic program and Boys’ Latin.
Winner: Mr. Ryan Hopkins

C. Markland Kelly Athletic Service Award
This award recognizes an individual who has provided great leadership, promoted Athletics within the School, exemplified teamwork, and sportsmanship. 
Winner: Tripp Ready

A. Mason LeBrun Award – Outstanding Junior Athlete
Named for longtime Athletic Director and lacrosse coach, Mr. LeBrun oversaw the move from Brevard Street to Lake Avenue and was instrumental in adding Cross country, soccer, wrestling, and baseball to our Athletic Program.
Winner: Liam White and Nick Chan

Woodward Cup for Effort in Three Sports
The Woodward Cup is named for Tillie Woodward a longtime faculty member at Boys’ Latin who was librarian taught mechanical drawing, ran the school plays and coached Lower School physical education. She specifically wanted the award for a student who played on three teams and gave outstanding effort in each season.
Winner: Ben Rubin, Brayden Lopez and Jake Laupert

Phyllis Miller Cup – Unsung Hero
Phyllis Miller was President of the Mother’s Club when Boys’ Latin moved to this location. An Unsung Hero is that person who is critical in every facet of the team.
Winner: Noah Jones and Wilson Ritter

Jack Williams Cup – Sportsmanship
The sportsmanship award is presented in memory of former Headmaster Jack Williams. Mr. Williams was an advocate of athletics and fair play and this year’s award is given to a young man who exhibits those qualities of fair play and sportsmanship.
Winner: Ben Thomas and Mehki Agudo

Coaches Cup for Teamwork & Leadership
The coaches cup is presented to an individual who in the eyes of his coaches is a team leader and puts teamwork above personal goals.
Winner: Kyle Foster, Glen Roe and Tyler Owens